Lego Architecture Series

The Lego Architecture Series models caught my eye when I was in a bookstore yesterday.  These Lego models use what appears to be standard Lego blocks (for the most part) in non-standard colors.  For example, Frank Lloyd Wright’s Fallingwater uses 811 clear, green, and tan blocks to create a 10″ wide replica of the historic home.  There are also models of other important buildings, from the Sears Tower (69 pieces) to the Seattle Space Needle (57 pieces) to the Taj Mahal (5922 pieces).   The models are built on a gray base that displays the name of the structure on a label.   All models come with a booklet with historical information about the structure.  Prices range from $19.99 for the smaller models to $249.99 for the Taj Mahal.  Fallingwater is $99.99.  If you can’t find the models locally, they can be ordered directly from Lego.

If you liked this story, be sure to read our other stories:

5 comments… add one
  • Jackie Cheng April 12, 2010, 10:55 am

    My cousins actually have this since he’s an architect major. Looks great for being Lego!

  • Matt Sailors April 12, 2010, 3:38 pm

    Actually, these are “standard” LEGO colors. LEGO bricks (and plates, and tiles, and other pieces) are available in a variety of colors — many more than when I started building with them in the early 1970s. LEGO official color list:

  • Janet Cloninger April 12, 2010, 3:42 pm

    @Matt Sailors Thanks for the info about the colors. Sorry about the wrong info.

  • jose April 12, 2010, 9:24 pm

    I am so looking for one.
    The colours are not super special but you won’t find them in basic block sets.

  • Matt Sailors April 12, 2010, 10:38 pm

    No problem. One of my other obsessions along with books and gadgets.

    Check or to find a bricks and mortar LEGO store.

Leave a Comment

Fall 2017 Gadget Giveaway now through 11/23 @ mignightENTER NOW!